FastTrack Board of Directors Names BMI’s Del Bryant as Chair

Film Music Magazine • July 1, 2009

The FastTrack Board of Directors has named BMI (United States) President & CEO Del Bryant as its new Chairperson, succeeding outgoing Chair Prof. Dr. Jürgen Becker of the German Collecting Society GEMA. SABAM’s Christophe Depreter, who will officially be named as Director General of the Belgian society on July 1, was named Vice-Chair and succeeds SOCAN’s (Canada) Chief Executive André LeBel in this post. The decision was made during the association’s meeting at the recent CISAC World Copyright Summit in Washington, D.C.

“Over the past decade, FastTrack has built the entertainment industry’s most advanced global network for management of copyright data. I look forward to working with all the talented executives on the FastTrack Board of Directors to continue to develop and implement these cutting-edge digital tools,” said Bryant. “All of us on the Board want to extend a special vote of thanks and heartfelt gratitude to Prof. Dr. Jürgen Becker for his great dedication during his mandate. His vision, passion and energy have made a huge contribution to FastTrack’s unique organization, which have benefited more than 80 CISAC member societies, as well as FastTrack’s 12 member societies. I am also especially pleased that Christophe Depreter has been appointed as FastTrack’s Vice-Chair. His enthusiasm and diligence has made SABAM one of the leading societies in implementing FastTrack tools and products.”

“I am glad to have the opportunity to contribute modestly to the noble task Del Bryant is going to take up. FastTrack is an alliance that sets an example of what a united and efficient collective management society shall be,” said Depreter.

FastTrack SAS is a global technical alliance encompassing 12 European and American copyright organizations, including AKM / Austro-Mechana (Austria), ASCAP (USA), BMI (USA), Buma / Stemra (The Netherlands), GEMA (Germany), PRS for Music (United Kingdom), SABAM (Belgium), SACEM (France), SGAE (Spain), SIAE (Italy), SOCAN (Canada) and SUISA (Switzerland). It was created to build a global, decentralized network that allows its alliance members to share and manage copyright data for musical and audio-visual works, and to streamline internal operations.

Leave a Comment