UK Ivor Novello Awards Nominations Announced

Film Music Magazine • April 21, 2010

Nominations for the Ivor Novello awards have been announced for excellence in British music writing.

Now in their sixth decade, The internationally respected Ivor Novello Awards are judged and presented by the writing community and are given annually to outstanding songwriters and composers.

Held at the Grosvenor House on Thursday 20th May 2010, The Ivors are presented by BASCA in association with PRS for Music, and continue to be acknowledged as one of the most coveted awards in the industry. Previous winners include Sir Paul McCartney, Madonna, David Bowie, Amy Winehouse, Sting, Annie Lennox and Radiohead.

The Ivor Novello Awards is BASCA’s flagship event, celebrating excellence in British songwriting, composing and music publishing. The awards can celebrate artistic excellence in a specific work, exceptional sales or performance figures, or recognise the outstanding achievements of a particular songwriter or composer throughout their career. Over the years the awards have reflected changing tastes in popular music, identifying and celebrating the contribution made by British music both in the UK and across the globe. The Ivor Novello Awards have been sponsored by PRS for Music for more than thirty years.

Nominees for the Ivor Novello Awards for the Year 2009


Song: Bonkers
Songwriter/s: Dylan Mills / Armand Van Helden
Performed By: Dizzee Rascal
UK Publisher/s: Notting Hill Music / Bug Music

Song: Daniel
Songwriter/s: Natasha Khan
Performed By: Bat For Lashes
UK Publisher/s: Chrysalis Music

Song: In For The Kill
Songwriter/s: Elly Jackson / Ben Langmaid
Performed By: La Roux
UK Publisher/s: Big Life Music


Song: Save It For Someone Who Cares
Songwriter/s: Nick Hemming
Performed By: The Leisure Society
UK Publisher/s: Notting Hill Music

Song: The Fear
Songwriter/s: Lily Allen / Greg Kurstin
Performed By: Lily Allen
UK Publisher/s: Universal Music Publishing / EMI Music Publishing

Song: The Last Bus
Songwriter/s: Ed Adlard / Will Adlard / Ali Digby / George Eddy
Performed By: Patch William
UK Publisher/s: Chrysalis Music


Broadcast: Desperate Romantics
Composer/s: Daniel Pemberton
UK Publisher/s: Moncur Street Music

Broadcast: Life
Composer/s: George Fenton
UK Publisher/s: Shogun Music Ltd

Broadcast: Red Riding 1974
Composer/s: Adrian Johnston
UK Publisher/s: Manners, McDade and McCleery Music


Album: The Duckworth Lewis Method
Songwriter/s: Neil Hannon / Thomas Walsh
Performed By: The Duckworth Lewis Method
UK Publisher/s: Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Album: Sunny Side Up
Songwriter/s: Paolo Nutini
Performed By: Paolo Nutini
UK Publisher/s: Warner/Chappell Music

Album: Tongue N’ Cheek
Songwriter/s: Nicholas Detnon / Dylan Mills
Performed By: Dizzee Rascal
UK Publisher/s: Notting Hill Music


Song: Broken Strings
Writer/s: James Morrison / Fraser T Smith / Nina Woodford
Performed By: James Morrison featuring Nelly Furtado
UK Publisher/s: Sony/ATV Music Publishing / Chrysalis Music

Song: The Fear
Writer/s: Lily Allen / Greg Kurstin
Performed By: Lily Allen
UK Publisher/s: Universal Music Publishing / EMI Music Publishing

Song: The Promise
Writer/s: Nick Coler / Miranda Cooper / Brian Higgins / Kieran Jones / Tim Powell / Jason Resch / Carla Williams
Performed By: Girls Aloud
UK Publisher/s: Warner/Chappell Music


Film: Ice Age 3: Dawn of the Dinosaurs
Composer/s: John Powell
UK Publisher/s: EMI Music Publishing

Film: Skin
Composer/s: Hélène Muddiman
UK Publisher/s: Mack Mummy Music Publishing

Film: The Young Victoria
Composer/s: Ilan Eshkeri
UK Publisher/s: Cutting Edge Music


Game: Empire: Total War
Composer/s: Richard Beddow / Richard Birdsall / Walter Mair / Lorenzo Piggici / Simon Ravn
Developer: Creative Assembly
UK Publisher/s: SEGA

Game: Killzone 2
Composer/s: Joris de Man
Developer: Guerrilla Games
UK Publisher/s: Sony Computer Entertainment Europe

Game: Savage Moon: Waldgeist
Composer/s: Armin Elsaesser
Developer: FluffyLogic Development Ltd
UK Publisher/s: Sony Computer Entertainment Europe

The following `Gift of the Academy’ Awards will be presented on the day:

* International Achievement
* Lifetime Achievement
* PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music
* Songwriter(s) of the Year
* Special International Award
* The Academy Fellowship
* The Ivors Classical Music Award
* The Ivors Inspiration Award

For more information, visit

Leave a Comment